The Lockdown Files (Part 1)

There’s no doubt that this has been a curious and often distressing period in our lives. For me Spring is usually a very important time, with lots and lots of photography workshops on the go with people just enjoying being out with their cameras after the long, dark days of winter. But like just about every other landscape photographer out there I have been pretty much sitting on my hands for the last few weeks – except I haven’t. I am lucky to live in a very beautiful place in the Peak District and one which I would not normally have an opportunity to pay close attention to simply because I would be busy. The enforced stay-at-home has been something of an opportunity to slow it all down and give my locale the attention it so clearly deserves so here is a gallery of images made while out walking near my house in the last two of months. All the images here are taken within couple of miles of my house and made using just my smartphone. Some of the shots I have made before and have been very happy to repeat but there’s new ones in here as well. The sorts of discoveries that you only make by dwelling and taking the time to get used to the major stimulae so that you can see and study the minor views, which is often where the greatest discoveries lie  ….

1 thought on “The Lockdown Files (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: 2020 In Review | Ravenseye Gallery – The Photography of Chris Gilbert

Leave a comment